Echo From Mount Royal – an interview

Cover for 'Echo from Mount Royal'

Echo From Mount Royal
by Dave Riese

Purchase coipes here

An Interview From Authors to Watch

Our Author of the Week is Dave Riese. He’s here to speak with us about his novel, Echo from Mount Royal. Welcome, Dave. When did you begin writing?

I began writing at Bates College in Maine. While studying abroad at Oxford University in England during my junior year, I travelled throughout Europe during term breaks. For my B.A. thesis, I wrote stories, essays and poems based on my travel journals. Like many young writers, I was ‘bitten’ by the poetry bug in my twenties. I was cured, mercifully, within two years. Three poems were good enough to escape the shredder.

In my mid-twenties, I began writing short stories. An early story, submitted to the University of Massachusetts literary magazine, was not accepted, but the editor wrote a personal note praising the story and encouraging me to continue writing. I have always treasured that ‘rejection.’

While studying for my MBA at Suffolk University in Boston, I entered stories in the university’s annual short story contests and won a couple of cash prizes. Despite that success, I knew I had to keep my day job.

In my thirties, I began writing a novel off-and-on over several years. I finally finished the 400-page novel. It hides in a cardboard box under my desk.

To read the rest of the interview, click here.

Tricia Drammeh

Both Dave Riese and Tricia Drammeh have been previously featured on Reading Recommendations.

2 comments

  1. Tricia Drammeh · March 9, 2016

    Thank you so much for sharing my interview with Dave!

    Liked by 1 person

    • islandeditions · March 9, 2016

      It was a great interview, and I’m now enjoying reading Dave’s book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

