Island in the Clouds – a review

I’m going to start the review ball rolling on this new blog with a review of my own novel, because I received exactly the type of review I hope other Readers will feel encouraged to write and post here. The reviewer in this case was unknown to me previously, although we were connected by having attended the same high school. We’ve never met in person. He wasn’t sure exactly how he first discovered my book (although he thinks it’s likely he heard of it because of that high school connection) but he did buy and read the book – read it twice, in fact! – and when we met up the other evening on Facebook, after he made a kind comment about the book, he offered to write a review. So, with his permission, here’s the review he submitted as the inaugural post on this blog. I hope it encourages other Readers, those who feel strongly enough about a book to want to share it, to also write a review – even if they think they can’t write one, or have never wanted to post publicly about anything on those online sales sites. It will also give you an idea of the format I have in mind for each post.

cover-susan-full-colour-jan2012

Island in the Clouds
by Susan M. Toy
Genre: Mystery, novel
Purchase here

I loved the novel Island in the Clouds and have read it a couple times. It reminded me of our expat friends in Belize and the crazy things that go on behind the scenes. Things one never hears about as a tourist.

Susan Toy’s writing style compares well with two of my favorite authors who feature local characters as part of their stories: Paul Kemperecos’s Aristotle “Soc” Socarides tales, like Bluefin Blues, and Jimmy Buffet’s Tales of Margaritaville.

I have to say Island in the Clouds is on the bookshelf along with these writer’s books as ones that can be read over and over as each time they are read one finds subtle nuances and details missed. A great book to take on a tropical holiday or to read dreaming of one. Hopefully there will be more tales of Geoff and his fellow expats to come.

D. Erkelens

7 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Susan Toy​ kicking off her new series with a review of her own book Island in the Clouds which I read and reviewed earlier in the year and can highly recommend.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. islandeditions · December 1, 2015

    Reblogged this on Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing and commented:

    In Aug. 2015, I wrote a blog post about the need for more places to review the books we write. Well, I’ve done something about it and created a new blog , reading recommendations reviewed, that will offer honest and positive reviews of books I’ve promoted on the other blog, Reading Recommendations. Have a look and please consider subscribing or even contributing a review or two!

    Like

  3. Let's CUT the Crap! · December 1, 2015

    Sweet, short and to the point. I know I borrowed these words but can’t help it. I believe many readers are put off writing reviews because they believe they are more complicated than they are. I love this current review. Gets a reader interested. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tricia Drammeh · December 3, 2015

    Reblogged this on Authors to Watch and commented:
    A fantastic review of Island in the Clouds by Susan M. Toy.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. theowllady · December 4, 2015

    Reblogged this on theowlladyblog.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: One Woman’s Island – a review | reading recommendations reviewed

Leave a Reply

